30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 2

Day 2 of Writing Challenge: Write Something that Someone Told You About Yourself That You Will Never Forget

This story is in About Me section of my blog, but it has always stuck with me as both a celebrity story and one of the nicest things anyone has ever said about me. When I was in a freshman in college, the real Patch Adams came to visit my church. He was friends with the priest at my church St. James Episcopal Church, Richmond, Virginia who invited him to come give a sermon there.

St. James Richmond

Ok a preface to this conversation would be a brief history on Episcopal Churches on the East Coast. They tend to be full of old white families that are stinking rich, especially in the South East. The rich and powerful have been going to them since the start of the US, i.e. St. John’s Lafayette Square in DC  where all the presidents since James Madison have gone at least once, and politicians still do this in Virginia (or at least did when I was in school there). St James is one of the oldest ones in the city and I adored going there because it was right across the street from my apartment, the community was awesome (great Young Adult meetings and they were nice to everyone even college students – not every Episcopal Church in the area was, it was my 2nd or 3rd one that I tried in the city) and I got to be in the choir, and we always sang amazing music. So St. James was full of these bowtie-wearing old established families, sitting in their historical church with the Tiffany stained glass windows (which really were lovely), and then Patch Adams does the sermon. I’ve never laughed so hard during one and I have been to many sermons as a PK (priest kid). People got up and left during the sermon, especially after he stood on top of the stool inside the pulpit and got completely inside of these clown pants he was wearing, it was brilliant. 

Anyways, after church, Patch was going to speak at VCU. My Young Adult group was helping set it up so we all went over there early. Before his talk, he was going to sign copies of his new book. I, being a broke college student, didn’t have any money but I still wanted his autograph so I stood in line for about half an hour waiting for his signature. Once I finally got up to the front of the line, he asked me for my book and I explained that I couldn’t afford one. He told me to go get one, so I did and went to stand in the back of the line. I knew how long it had taken me to get to the front but I didn’t think it was fair to cut in front of all the other people who were waiting, so I stood in the back. After about ten minutes, there was a commotion at the front of the line and the guy who was standing behind me originally in line, came back to say “He wants you to come to the front.” So I followed him up and Patch said “You were going to wait back there?” and I said “Yes.” So he says “You know, if there were more people like you, there wouldn’t be any wars.” This made me grin like an idiot, and he signed my book and I got to hear him speak again. 

Leave a Reply

