Moments of Zen: Sept 30-Oct 6

I know I’ve not been great about posting much of anything aside from these Moments of Zen lately on the blog, but my life has been super crazy lately (probably will only get crazier), and this is what I can manage. I’m actually impressed that I’ve managed to post every week since I started doing this. I enjoy sharing my weeks with others, and hopefully my readers get a kick out of it too. I will share more of what is going on in the future, but not right now. I’m hoping to ramp up my Advanced Reader’s Copy reviews soon as the new year approaches. I might do an art post in the near future because I’ve been thinking about it for awhile and I miss doing them. 

Fri: Presenting my Rainbow DiscoveryTime to a very enthusiastic group of preschoolers this morning, and have them get really into how the prisms reflected/refracted the light to make a rainbow and creating their own rainbow twirlers (made with crayons instead of paint and sans pot of gold at the end); Starting a new book I won on Goodreads called The Girl Who Fought Napolean: A Novel of the Russian Empire by Linda Lafferty.

Sat: Watching one of my favorite books as a kid, The BFG by Roald Dahl, as a movie with my son. It was a good adaptation, but just makes me want to re-read the book with my son. His favorite part was the farting corgis (no surprise there). 

the-bfg

Sun: Lately my son has been wanting him to snuggle with him in bed before he goes to sleep. This is both a good sweet thing and makes me a bit sad because he doesn’t want to be alone. 

Mon: Actually going to sleep at 9:30pm. This is a seriously rare occurrence. It’s the first time in forever that I’ve actually gotten 8 hrs of sleep. 

Tues: Helping an adult customer while I was working at the branch library actually. She couldn’t figure out where her Word files had gone and I was trying to explain to her the difference between files and folders. Very basic computers 101, but it felt great to feel like I can really help this person organize her papers so she can easily access them. 

Wed: Decided to finally try Urban Cookies bakery, which is literally 5 minutes from my house and I pass all the time but never stop. I tried their Caramel Apple seasonal cupcake with cinnamon apple filling and caramel buttercream and it was amazing. Sigh…My son got a super chocolately one with vanilla buttercream and these little chocolate balls on top and the first thing he said when he picked it up was “Mind blown – chocolate!”, which I shared with the people in the bakery. Needless to say we will both be coming back in the future. 

Thurs: Trying out new recipes this week: today it was One Pot Beef Stroganoff, which was pretty tasty and Wed it was Chicken with a Roasted Red Pepper Sauce. Would definitely make Wednesday’s dish again and perhaps the Stroganoff in a pinch, though would substitute ground pork for the beef. 

Leave a Reply

